Welcome to Wollongong, home to POWERCON 2016! IEEE


Photos and brief information about keynote speakers:

Miroslav Begovic
BegovicDr. Miroslav M. Begovic is the Head of Electrical and Computer Engineering Department and the Carolyn S. & Tommie E. Lohman ’59 Professor at Texas A&M University. Previously he was the Professor and Chair of the Electrical Energy Technical Interest Group at Georgia Institute of Technology and was an affiliated faculty member of the Brooks Byers Institute for Sustainable Systems and the University of Excellence on Photovoltaic Research. He received his Ph.D. in electrical engineering from Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University and joined the faculty at Georgia Tech in 1989. Prof. Begovic’s research interests lie in wide area monitoring, protection and emergency control using smart grid apparatus; sustainable and resilient energy infrastructures; and managing large assets in energy infrastructure. He has participated in several collaborative research projects for the National Science Foundation and the Department of Energy, resulting in more than $10 million of funding in collaborative research over the last five years. Prof. Begovic is a member of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers’ (IEEE) Power and Energy (PES), Computer, and Circuits and Systems Societies. In 2011 he was elected president of PES. He is also a Fellow of IEEE, an IEEE PES Distinguished Lecturer and a member of Sigma Xi, Eta Kappa Nu, Phi Kappa Phi and Tau Beta Pi. Prof. Begovic has published approximately 200 journal and conference papers and has presented nearly 100 keynote speeches, invited talks and presentations.


Yi Ding

Prof. Yi Ding
Yi Ding is a Professor in the College of Electrical Engineering, Zhejiang University (ZJU), also a scholar of Thousand Talent Program for Young Outstanding Scientists of China. Before he joined in ZJU, he was an Associate Professor in Technical University of Denmark (DTU). He also held academic positions in University of Alberta, Canada and Nanyang Technological University, Singapore. He was a Consultant as Energy Economist for Asian Development Bank in 2010. He is editorial member of international journals of Electric Power System Research and Journal of Modern Power Systems and Clean Energy, respectively. He is also a guest editor for the special section of IEEE Trans. on Power Systems. He published more than 80 academic papers in some prestigious journals and conferences and coauthored one book devoted to multi-state system risk evaluation and optimization. His research areas include power system planning and reliability evaluation, smart grid and complex system risk assessment. He was a task leader of EU FP7 project “EcoGrid EU” – A Prototype for European Smart Grids for designing a real time market for integrating distributed energy resources and small end-consumers for future power systems. Since he joined in ZJU, he has been the PI and Co-PI of several NSFC projects focusing on reliability evaluation of smart grid. He has consulted for Development Research Center of the State Council (DRC) for planning future Chicness energy systems.


Z.Y. (Joe) Dong
Professor Z.Y. (Joe) Dong is Head of School of Electrical and Information Engineering, the University of Sydney, and a contractor with Ausgrid and EPRI, USA. He is now a member of the ARC College of Experts. Prior to joining the University of Sydney in 2013, he was Ausgrid Chair and Director of Ausgrid Centre of Excellence for Intelligent Electricity Networks (CIEN) at the University of Newcastle, Australia. He has also worked for Hong Kong Polytechnic University and as system planning manager with Transend Networks, Australia. Professor Dong’s research interest includes power system planning and stability, smart grid, load modeling, renewable energy, electricity market, and computational methods. He is an editor of IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON SMART GRID, IEEE PES LETTERS, IET RENEWABLE POWER GENERATION, and Journal of Modern Power Systems and Clean Energy. He is an international Advisor for the lead Chinese journal of Automation of Electric Power Systems. He also serves as guest editor for International Journal of Systems Science.




Hugh Bannister
hugh 1Hugh Bannister earned his Science degree (majoring in Physics and Mathematics) in 1964 and his Engineering degree (with First Class Honours) at the University of New South Wales in 1966. He received a Masters degree in Electrical Engineering in 1995. After an early career in industry and government, 1993 he founded Intelligent Energy Systems (IES), a software and advisory business focused on the operations of the electricity market and the energy industry generally. In this business, Hugh specialised in all forms of mathematical optimisation, not only for the electricity market but also more widely in industry and finance. Hugh was project manager for the development of the Victorian wholesale electricity market from 1993, which merged into the national electricity market in 1998. Since then he has undertaken a wide range of local and international projects, including providing advice on the current ancillary service market arrangements in National Energy Market (NEM), much of which has been implemented. His current focus is on upgrading IES’s software product range and advisory capability to promote the technical and regulatory evolution of the NEM as new technologies emerge.




Chanan Singh
ChananChanan Singh is currently a Regents Professor and Irma Runyon Chair Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas, USA. He served as the Head of the ECE Department from 1997 to 2005 and 2012 to 2015. He has served as a Program Director at the National Science Foundation, USA. He has also served as a Guest Professor at Tsinghua University, Beijing, China. His main research and consulting interests are in the application of probabilistic methods to power systems. He has authored/co-authored close to 400 technical publications and three books and has contributed to several books. He has consulted with many major corporations and given short courses nationally and internationally. Dr. Singh is a Fellow of IEEE and the recipient of the 1998 Outstanding Power Engineering Educator Award given by the IEEE Power Engineering Society. For his research contributions, he was awarded a D.Sc. degree by the University of Saskatchewan, Saskatoon, SK, Canada, in 1997. In 2008, he was recognized with the Merit Award by the PMAPS International Society. In 2010, he was the inaugural recipient of the IEEE-PES Roy Billinton Power System Reliability Award.